Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Ethiopia, Egypt and Sudan agree to form Permanent Cooperative Mechanism

By Administrator   
Tuesday, 20 November 2012 07:59
Ethiopia, Egypt and Sudan agree to form Permanent Cooperative Mechanism 
Following the three-day meeting held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia has signed an agreement with Egypt and Sudan, which ensures cooperation on the Nile River. The Parties have agreed to establish a Permanent Cooperative Mechanism (PCM) in the eastern Nile sub-basin that would serve as a transitional agreement. It was also agreed that Egypt and Sudan should henceforth participate in all Nile Basin activities and processes. A future PMC design is also going to be launched which would replace the temporary cooperation to ensure continuity, further promote cooperation and to secure gains for all countries. The countries would also launch the requisite studies and consultations to contribute to the PMC. The communiqué stated that the outcome of the meeting was subject to the endorsement by the respective countries. The agreement was signed by Alemayehu Tegenu, Ethiopia’s Minister of Water and Energy, who chaired the meeting, Dr. Mohammed Bahaeldin, Minister of Water Irrigation from the Republic of Egypt and Prof. Seifedin Hamad who represented the Sudanese Minister of Water Resources and Electricity.

No comments:

Post a Comment